Riting Erors

My first language wasn’t English, but I learned it very early on and most people can’t tell that it wasn’t my first language since I have a flawless and wonderful American accent.  But writing on the other hand…it’s a bitch.  I am great at getting my thoughts to paper/NAND, but not so great at missing typos and grammatical issues.  It take many many reads for me to find nearly everything.  And by nearly, I mean nearly.  I still miss a bunch.  For instance, I’ll post something here thinking I did a good job editing then I’ll notice a typo in the very first sentence of the published post.  This happens all the time: emails, grants, reports, publications, text messages, etc. and I don’t know how to get better.  Practicing helps, but not as much as I thought it would.

This is where editors come in.  I have a few trusted people that I have read important things so they pick up typos really easily, but I wish there was a way for me to get better at this stuff.  I aced college English classes, but honestly they were so easy they were jokes, so clearly that wasn’t the way to learn.  I am getting better at grant apps and manuscripts because I have lots of editors, but for this blog and my emails there’s no white light.  Just lost of topys.

One thought on “Riting Erors

  1. try Grammarly or some other online tool, it catches a lot of typos and simple grammatical errors. Being Indian, I mostly miss articles and it takes me many reading before I fix all missing “a” and “the” in my writing.

    Like

Leave a comment